Skip to content

Beginning of the Dreaded Workday

September 29, 2011

It’s always motivating to see I’ve hooked someone on something I’ve written.

“Lady, I believe you have talent. Now do me a favor, write the next scene. :)”
That was from one of my Castle Age army members (it’s a facebook game that I have been playing for years). She had just read the 500 word Flash Fic from the last entry. It definitely gave me warm and fuzzies.

Yesterday, after I had finished posting my flash fic., I popped over to my friend and former roommate’s fiction press story he’s been working on. I started giving him edit-suggestions and pointing out parts I liked and parts that were confusing. It’s always helpful to get good critique back. I appreciate it as a writer so I make sure that, when I give a critique, I am honest and thorough.

__________That’s all on the Writing-Front for the Moment__________

So, what’s going on with me? Well, basically I’m dreading going back to work after having five glorious days off (with the exception of my sleeping time. I work way too much in Dreamland). I got an extra hour before I have to go in because they’re so slow today. I’m still waiting for a call-back about my used bookstore application. On top of it all, I still am teetering on the edge of a life-change. I saw an interesting tip for choosing a career online while I was miserably browsing. One lady took out the phone book and started seeing what kind of businesses are out there. There are way more than what I’d find on the CareerBuilder and Monster search engines. They aren’t necessarily help-wanted ads, but there are jobs listed in the phone book that I hadn’t considered before. (There was a whole page for “cremation-services.” I just figured that’d be under “Funeral Homes” but I guess they’re more specific than that!)

I definitely don’t have the time right now. I have to leave for work in about 15 minutes. But it’ll be something I can research a bit more than banging my head on my keyboard and hoping something interesting will pop up.

From → Blog Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

