Skip to content

NaNoOutMo to NaNoWriMo

October 4, 2011

Writing classes everywhere, along with writers of all genres, are possibly aware of NaNoWriMo. A crazy endeavor to write a short-novel-length-piece in a month. There are mixed feelings everywhere about the process. Many things in life take a hit because of it. Especially if you’re in school. You have to sort out what takes priority. It can take anywhere from an hour to hours to fulfill 1,666 to 1,700ish words per day. Some days, you just don’t feel like writing. I know I’ve fallen off the writing-wagon my fair share of times, but I always make myself get back on. Emotionally, physically, maybe you’re too tired. But it’s the same excuse many people have used in lieu of doing something they should be doing.

“I just don’t have time to exercise. I need rest so I’ll forego my 20 minutes of crunches and push-ups and kick back for a movie instead.”

“I don’t have the energy to cook.”

“I’m too tired to look at words on a page, I’ll do my homework later.”

Being tired accounts for a number of my own short-comings. Hell, when I used to start my homework assignments in college, I’d be asleep in record-time. Especially Freshman year. I claim it to be a defense-mechanism of sorts. My brain’s way of telling me there’s something I don’t want to do. Granted, I never set aside a quiet space for me to get my assignments done. I hated to read textbooks (there are few that I actually enjoy).

Anyway, back to writing, yes? I think I’m going to actually participate in NaNo this year. I don’t have school in my way, I’m working a crappy part time job, there’s really nothing else holding me back! And I think I’m going to use this blog to help me do it.

This month will be used to brainstorm and outline what I want the story to be. Next month, the writing will begin. You can watch my progress, make comments, etc. Any criticism is welcome as this will be a Zero-Draft (term coined by Chuck Wendig). A story which will be spewed forth onto my blog pages and then later revisited, extended, jabbed, twisted, maimed, and reborn into something that will probably be revisited, poked, jabbed, amputated, and have bionic limbs attached.

This should be fun!

From → Blog Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

