Skip to content

Imp Checklist

January 11, 2012

Alright, so my goal this year is to start a project, even if it’s not going to wind up published. This way I can get used to working through the process. I said it would start out as a flash-fic piece and that I would build from there. Why wait? I figured I’d start with this one. You don’t get writing done if you’re only thinking about it. But a world of imps, demons, ghouls, and poltergeists? I should probably have some background to work off of, even if only part of that background winds up in the actual story.

I was going to start with an outline, but I think I need to start a little bit further outside of the spectrum of the story for parts of this. Establish some parameters so I can be familiar with this world I’m wanting to create.

Little Imp-World-Building & Questions I Should Answer About this Story Checklist

  1. Imp’s back-story (same link as earlier) introducing his ticket to promotion
  2. Create background on how Imp became an imp; the choices that got Imp there.
  3. Describe the jobs of imps, demons, ghouls, and poltergeists.
  4. How many murders will guarantee promotion?
  5. How does the interaction between Imp and Human work? How do imps choose their targets?
  6. Describe the time Jessica and Imp had together from her first human kill.
  7. What happened to Jessica internally while her changes were taking place?
  8. How long did her murder spree last?
  9. Did she get caught?
  10. What happens come promotion-time? What happens to Jessica if Imp leaves?
  11. Can Jessica get so messed up that Imp is actually freaked out? Has Imp created something beyond its control?

That’s all I’m coming up with for tonight. More to come in the following days, but I have work early in the morning and should be getting to sleep!

~P

Throughout this process (if someone feels inclined to keep up with it or even glance at the occasional pieces) I’d appreciate good, honest feedback. If something’s really not working for you, please tell me. If something is fantastic for you, speak up! Don’t worry about hurting my feelings. Stories don’t get better by inflating people’s egos because you don’t want to hurt their feelings.

One of my fiction writing professors said it’s important to find at least 3 things you liked and 3 that you didn’t like about a particular piece. One further step you can take is offering an alternative phrasing/way to do it. If not for the benefit of the author, then for the benefit of yourself. How would you approach a problem if you came up against this in your own writing? Take a look at your own writing again, have you made similar mistakes? Here’s your chance to implement your new-found solutions! I really do miss the honest feedback of a writing workshop class. 🙂 Anyway! TO SLEEP!

From → Blog Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

